Tempe High School logo

Tempe High School

Tempe High School

Innovation, Opportunity, Excellence

Telephone02 9558 2336


Technological and applied studies

Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students develop knowledge, understanding and skills through a design and production process using a range of tools, materials and techniques in theory and practical lessons.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • mandated from Kindergarten to Year 8 through Science and Technology K-6 and Technology Mandatory Years 7-8 syllabuses
  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to apply knowledge, skills and understanding to design and produce solutions
  • optional for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Stage 4 (Years 7–8)

Technology Mandatory is a rich and complex subject that provides students with opportunities to become technologically literate individuals capable of developing creative solutions to identified problems and situations.  Technologies affect and enrich the lives of people and societies globally and contribute to shaping preferred futures.

Students will develop knowledge, skills and products in the context of:

  • Agriculture and Food Technologies
  • Digital Technologies
  • Engineered Systems
  • Material Technologies (including timber, textile, multimedia and recycled/mixed materials)

In doing so, students will develop knowledge and understanding of the design process and be able to make more informed choices in terms of their pathway into Stage 5 and beyond.

Stage 5 (Years 9–10)

TAS Subjects offered in Stage 5 includes:

  • Food Technology
  • Graphics  - Design and Technology
  • Industrial Technology - Engineering
  • Industrial Technology - Multimedia
  • Industrial Technology - Timber
  • Information and Software Technology
  • Textiles Technology
  • iSTEM - delivered across faculties (Science-Technology-Engineering-Mathematics)

Stage 6 (Years 11–12)

Subjects offered in Stage 6 includes:

  • Design and Technology
  • Engineering Studies
  • Hospitality - Food and Beverage
  • Industrial Technology - Multimedia Technologies
  • Industrial Technology - Timber Products and Furniture Technologies
  • Software Development and Design
  • Textiles and Design

For further information about these courses, please refer to Technologies K–10 syllabuses and Years 11–12 syllabuses available on the new NESA website or contact the TAS Faculty at the school.